Moisturizing Winter Hair Mask

1450714684545
The camera on my phone isn’t the best (I will be getting a new one soon HOPEFULLY), this is my hair right after the mask was washed out and I let it air dry. Super soft and shiny, definitely voluminous!

 

 

My hair use to be very soft and a light blond color, I stained it using coffee and black tea for a few months and it came to be a medium brown color and then I finally decided to dye it dark brown with a semi permanent dye. I was convinced for some reason that girls with dark hair were so much prettier than blonds and that people would take me more seriously. I have no clue why. Well, after that my hair still came back a bright blond, it was still soft and then I made the mistake of dying it again later that year (using a permanent dye) to a color that was almost charcoal-black.

After that, my hair has been more prone to dryness than softness and more brittle & light brown than fluffy & light blond. The No Poo challenge, hair masks, and vinegar rinses have helped to get my hair a little more conditioned. It’s not quite as nice as it was though, so if you can ladies, DO NOT dye your hair. Embrace your natural hair color and you will in the long run be so much happier :). I’m still (two years later) trying to get my hair back to it’s natural color by growing it out and getting sunshine.

I would definitely say diet plays a big part in hair health. I eat lots of natural fats like avocados, whole plain yogurt, eggs (I even have smoothies with raw eggs in them a few times a week). Dying my hair and now being pregnant (which makes hair more dull/limp), has really done a number or two on my hair.. in addition to winter’s dry air, I thought it’s time for a hair mask and I felt like sharing it with you as well.

I use to do hair masks 1 -2 times weekly. I haven’t done one in a few months though because I don’t like using shampoo, so now I don’t do them nearly as frequently as I think I probably ought to. You can do a hair mask 1 -2 times a week if you want, or just 1 – 2 times a month is plenty.  I was definitely due for one! These are amazing for your hair though and helps to replenish any areas that are lacking some love or prone to dryness (I know the ends of my bangs/fringes and random sections throughout my hair tend to be more dry than the rest). 🙂

What you’ll need:
Note – I have long hair (about 23 to 24 inches from roots to ends), and this mixture was just enough to throughly coat/soak my hair all the way top-to-bottom. If you have shorter or longer hair you can either wrap the remaining mixture or adjust the recipe to suit your needs.

1/2 an avocado (ripe or a little overripe is fine)
1/4 cup of coconut oil melted & medium warm (almost hot)
1 whole egg

How To
1. Start by warming up the coconut oil in a pan over medium heat.
2.While it’s warming up, crack your egg in a bowl and mix it with the avocado half until there are little to no chunks or avocado and no parts that appear to be all egg (you could use a fork or put them in a blender).
3. Check the temperature of the oil (it can’t be too hot, it has to go on your scalp and you don’t want it cooking the egg in the mixing bowl) it should be warm enough that when you pour it in the bowl with your other two cooler ingredients that it won’t begin to solidify.
4. Mix the ingredients together and you can apply the mask on dry or wet hair over a sink.
5. Leave it on for 45 minutes to 1 hour, and you can use a shower cap or a grocery bag to keep the mixture warm and prevent any drips.
6. After the time is up, rinse it out with cool to cold water (so you don’t cook the egg onto your hair) then proceed to wash as usual! Note: If you don’t like using shampoo the no poo method works fine for washing this out, just keep applying the baking soda/water mix until the coconut oil has been thoroughly washed out.

This mask smells really good and I hope you enjoy it! Let me know how you like it, if you try it. I did this one today while cleaning the house, right after my workout (so I needed to shower afterwards anyways). I really liked it and my hair has a lot more volume! It feels super silky! A perfect hair-pick-me-up. 😀

All the best and have a blessed day! ❤

Leave a Reply

