My Pregnancy Workout

I have tried a few different pregnancy workouts including Autumn’s Active Maternity workouts on Beachbody.com, Prenatal Pilates, and I would have to say I enjoy regular workouts a lot more. I personally don’t feel like I get the same results with pregnancy workouts that I get from regular (modified) workouts.

I’ve been enjoying this workout lately The Perfect Pregnancy Workout by Alexa Jean a lifestyle blogger.

I based my workout off of Alexa’s workout, I change a few things depending on my mood though and most days it looks like this:

20 minute walk on incline (using a treadmill, I alternate between 2.0 mph and 4.5 mph every few minutes I adjust the incline or speed to keep my body in ‘shock’ so it’s constantly readjusting which gets a good sweat going)

Then I do 1 – 3 sets of the following exercises depending on my energy level that day-
12 squats
12 lunges, on each leg
12 plie squats

12 bicep curls
12 tricep extensions or dips
12 standing rows
12 seated or standing shoulder press

12 wall/bench or regular push-ups depending on the size of your belly and your personal fitness level
12 donkey kicks, on each leg
12 fire hydrants on each leg
20 – 45 seconds of plank on your forearms

Take breaks after each exercise or as needed. You are pregnant so you can still get a great workout, you need to go a little easier just so you don’t get too breathless. Have a fresh bottle of water on hand at all times and listen to your body. If you feel pain during an exercise then stop and you can skip it or try it again while paying special attention to your form.

I stretch before doing my morning cardio and also after I complete a workout. This is really important, and now that you’re pregnant you need to be stretching even more so. Also be sure that you don’t over stretch if you’re in your 2nd or 3rd trimester. 🙂

I take one to two rest days a week, for me I take Wednesday and Saturday off, on those days I will still take a 30 – 40 minute walk outside with my husband in addition to some light stretching just to be active in general.

The circulation that comes from exercise and stretching is really important. Staying active during pregnancy is great for your baby short term (she/he gets all of the good hormones so it makes him more active, helps the brain develop properly) AND long term (your baby is less likely to become obese later in life). It’s great for you, your self-esteem, your mental and emotional state and in the end, when it comes time to have your baby staying active, safely, will make labor easier for you!

I have been enjoying the above workout for three months now and I make it a little different every day, to keep it interesting. It’s important that you enjoy your workouts/source of activity so that you stay consistent with it. If you don’t enjoy your workout you won’t look forward to it, and chances are it will be difficult to stick to it.

If you do enjoy your workout and you stay consistent you won’t gain excessive amounts of weight during pregnancy and you can avoid a ton of problems that come with that weight gain including stretch marks, health risks to both mom and baby. So no matter what type of workout you choose yoga, dance, weightlifting, jogging, speedwalking, pilates, swimming, make sure you enjoy it and it makes you feel good. 🙂

I am currently on week 20 (half way through the pregnancy) and I’ve gained 8lbs so far, my goal is to be under 20lbs gained for the total pregnancy because I’m smaller (5ft 1in) I don’t believe I need a ton of weight on me and staying smaller is good for both me and baby. It’s been making my pregnancy more comfortable thus far and it will make it easier when it comes time for labor. I don’t have as many complaints as other women that I’ve met who are where I am in pregnancy. I still have 20 weeks to get through, I am very motivated to keep myself (and my little baby) healthy, happy and in shape though. So keep me in your prayers. ❤ I will be sure to post some pictures on here soon.

I hope you have a great pregnancy, happy fitness to all of the mamas-to-be out there!

Let me know if you try this workout or if you have any questions or thoughts about fitness during pregnancy. I love hearing from you guys 🙂 ❤

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

